Board of Directors 

Executive Members on the Board of Directors


Inquiries related to the Board of Directors, please email


President: Melani Bersten, PharmD

Dr. Melani Kane (Bersten), PharmD graduated from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and returned to Minnesota as a Cannabis Pharmacist. Dissatisfied with the plethora of misinformation available to healthcare providers and the public, Dr. Kane spent countless hours researching and documenting patient interactions. Dr. Kane created as an e-learning resource to prepare healthcare professionals for their role in cannabinoid medicine. Passionate about empowering patients and providers with the knowledge and tools to transform the public perception of cannabis, Dr. Kane co-founded the International Society of Cannabis Pharmacists ( to encourage pharmacists to provide their unique perspective and expertise on the subject.

Dr. Kane speaks on the clinical considerations of medical Cannabis around the US and Canada, encourages pharmacists, as the medication experts, to advocate for patients and the plant. 




Vice President: Esther Kim, PharmD 

Dr. Esther Kim, PharmD received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the Temple University School of Pharmacy in 2008 where she served as Class President. She went on to complete a clinical practice residency with the SUNY Upstate Medical University Hospital in Syracuse, New York. In the 10 years she has been practicing pharmacy, Dr. Kim has gained experience in the academic, long term care, community, and continuing education arenas. It was during her tenure as the Director for Allied Health Programming at OnCourse Learning Corporation that she became interested in medicinal cannabis, having taken lead on an interprofessional live continuing education program on the subject and finding it to be a fascinating area in healthcare education with tremendous growth potential. In doing her own research and receiving her Pennsylvania Department of Health certification for medicinal cannabis, Dr. Kim was able to increase her knowledge base and network with other healthcare providers who are passionate about the use of medicinal cannabis. Dr. Kim currently serves as a Cannabis Pharmacist with Cure Dispensary where she engages in community outreach and consults with patients to provide cannabis education.


Treasurer: Ethan Carruthers, PharmD

Dr. Ethan Carruthers, PharmD is a Medical Cannabis pharmacist and pharmacology expert and passionate advocate for the realistic medical use of cannabis using modern pharmacological standards. Dr. Carruthers seeks to educate healthcare practitioners, policy-makers, and the general public on the use and benefits of medical cannabis for a variety of health conditions. Dr. Carruthers has two years of clinical experience in treating patients using a medical therapy management and collaborative practice style of therapy. He has developed various tools and standards for medical cannabis dosing for multiple indications using a variety of dosage forms. Dr. Carruthers brings evidence-based practices and principles, individualized therapies, and rational regulation to the medical cannabis industry as it evolves.




Secretary: Christine Roussel, PharmD, BCOP

Dr. Christine Roussel, PharmD is a Board Certified Oncology Pharmacist with a Bachelors in Toxicology and Doctorate in Pharmacy from Philadelphia College of Pharmacy.  She works in hospital pharmacy administration in Pennsylvania and as an Adjunct Assistant Professor at USciences. Dr. Roussel has a passion for cleanroom design and pharmacy regulations; and enjoys writing and teaching on these topics.  She facilitates educational programs across the United States on sterile, non-sterile and hazardous drug compounding. Clinical use of cannabis and potential drug interactions has been a strong interest of Christine’s since she first began working with oncology patients who self medicated with cannabis. Dr. Roussel has provided educational programs on cannabis to pharmacists, physicians and nurses through webinars, local, state and national presentations.  She is interested in quality control of medical cannabis processing and formulations, and the management of medical cannabis patients as they move across transitions in care.


Chair: Brian Harvey, RPh

Mr. Brian Harvey, RPh has more than 20 years of experience in delivering high quality Pharmaceutical Care to patients in a wide variety of settings. After starting a small Informatics Consulting Firm in 2011, Mr. Harvey has most recently ventured out as a pioneer and trailblazer in the evolving pharmaceutical specialty of Cannabis Based Medicine. As part of the team that secured the first Medical Cannabis license in the State of Minnesota in 2015, Mr. Harvey’s primary drive in his healTHCare endeavors is to increase the safety and efficacy of cannabis-based medication therapy through development and implementation of best practices and incorporation of evidence based medicine. Mr. Harvey is also dedicated to promoting, demystifying, destigmatizing the topic of cannabis based medications for his community and for his fellow Pharmacists, as well as the Pharmacists of tomorrow.


Student Representative: Joseph Falbo


Mr. Joseph Falbo, PharmD Candidate is diligently preparing to be involved with and work towards the cannabis pharmacist career path. Personally affected by the perils of addiction and motivated to do something, Joseph attended the APhA institute on Substance Use Disorders & Alcoholism where pathophysiology, laws/regulations, and available treatments were discussed – with the goal of how health care providers can help those in need and removing stigma. Joseph seeks a career in medical cannabis to support and advocate for patients using his pharmacy knowledge.






General Members on the Board of Directors     

 Dr. Bradley Carlson, PharmD


Mr. Joseph Friedman, RPh


Dr. Jeffrey Lombardo, PharmD


Dr. Michael Shafor, PharmD





Founding Board Members:


Christine Roussel, PharmD, BCOP

Melani Kane (Bersten), PharmD