We are the

International Society of Cannabis Pharmacists 

and we are 

defining cannabis care.


As medication experts and patient advocates, pharmacists provide a unique and compassionate perspective on clinical cannabis medicine. Compelled by the lack of standardization, we joined together to recognize the medical effects of cannabis and provide a voice to its legitimacy across the nation.  

The International Society of Cannabis Pharmacists (ISCPh) was founded to unify the pharmacy profession on the subject of cannabis in support of public health.

ISCPh will accomplish this through:


  1. Provision of current, accurate information on the advances of cannabis medicine
  2. Continuing professional development courses on medical cannabis for pharmacists and the greater medical community
  3. Facilitating unique meet-up opportunities for pharmacists to connect with their peers across practice settings and medical sub-specialties
  4. Raising societal awareness about the role of the pharmacist as a key component to optimizing medical cannabis care related to patient directed self-management of symptoms
  5. Engaging student pharmacists in the medical cannabis industry
  6. Serving as a trusted, credible resource to legislators, policy makers, regulators, and the public  

Learn more about what being a member of the International Society of Cannabis Pharmacists means
and get involved with the cannabis community today!

   Executive Members on the Board of Directors

   President: Melani Kane

  Vice President: Esther Kim

  Secretary: Jeff Lombardo

 Treasurer: Gregory Vassie

 Student Representative: Margaret O’Connor



General Board Members:

  Christine Roussel 

 Alan Ao

 Shane Carmichael

 Joaquin Acosta

 Laura Mentch


Founding Board Members:

Christine Roussel, PharmD, BCOP

Melani Kane (Bersten), PharmD



The Advisory Board will consist of leaders in the medical, legal, public health, and educational fields who share our vision and passion about medical cannabis.

Additional applicants may apply by submitting a current resume, list of relevant accomplishments and background experience in medical cannabis and ISCPh to advisors@cannabispharmacist.org

Christopher Kennedy is the Chief Operating Officer of Heritage Biologics specialty and home infusion pharmacy headquartered in Kansas City, Missouri. He has spent the last 18 years in leadership roles within the Specialty Pharmacy, Biotechnology, and Medical Device sectors. Most recently, Christopher was presented with the 2018 American Telemedicine Association President’s Award for Innovation for his efforts in developing HemoMD. This telemedicine solution delivers the first Virtual Integrated Practice Unit (VIPU) approach to managing patients with rare conditions.

Christopher credits his time at The Wharton School for learning the fundamentals of “Innovation Tournaments” to more rapidly deliver new market solutions. Christopher also studied under Michael Porter and Robert Kaplan at Harvard Business School to adopt the fundamentals of Time-Driven Activity- Based Costing (TDABC) for Heritage Biologics’ valuebased “Measure It!” Campaign. His effort in developing the first formal Pharmacy Patient Experience (RXPX) program has resulted in Heritage becoming the first pharmacy member of both The Beryl Institute and the Association for Patient Experience (AfPE).

Previously, Christopher was a charter member of MATTER, a Chicago based health-tech incubator focused on designing new patient care models. His innovative work focused on creating new health analytics and developing Patient Experience metrics that extend beyond traditional HCAHPS data.

Dynamic background ranging from building start-up organizations to expanding multiple Fortune 500 companies. Documented success establishing and growing multi-million dollar business franchises ($7M- $240M). Most recently helped launch a biotech firm to a successful $650M acquisition, highlighting a career of over $1.6 billion in collective successful M&A exits.

For more information on Committee Members and Responsibilities; Visit our Resources Page

    Chair: Greg Vassie 

    • Financial planning
    • Legal compliance


    Education and Professional Development (EPD)
    Chair: Shane Carmichael 

    • Academic outreach
    • Student rotations
    • Certification and accreditation
    • CE courses


    Clinical Practice and Research (CPR) 
    Chair: Melani Kane 

    • Standards of practice
    • Policies
    • Develop and review publications



    Chair: Alan Ao 

    • Membership directories
    • Students
    • Social media
    • Networking events


    Quality Assurance and Patient Safety
    Chair: Jeff Lombardo 

    • Labeling
    • Product safety
    • Packaging safety